Feel like nothing is sinking in

Hi guys,
I started learning HTML & CSS about a month ago, I’ve put a lot of hours into it and im loving it so far. I’m going through the curriculum here and passing through it with very few issues, but when i try to practice my own projects or do the certification projects at the end of each module, I feel absolutely clueless and have to use google for help so much. I’ve tried watching online tutorials, practicing my own projects on Visual Studio Code and doing the curriculum on here, but i feel like nothing is sticking in my brain. It’s so frustrating because I really enjoy doing it. I know its early days, but is there anything else i can try or is this completely normal?

1 Like

I’m a beginner just like you except maybe a few more months in and I can assure you that what you’re feeling is completely normal. I only felt confident a few days ago when I was working on my Product Landing Page. Only then did it all sink in and I was able to conceptualize what I wanted to see on the screen and put it into practice. So feeling lost and checking StackOverflow every 10 seconds is totally normal, at least for me.
Here’s some advice I can give you:

1. Learn CSS Flexbox really well. When I was learning it on fCC, I thought it was some cool toolbox of tricks rarely actually used that often in most projects. Wrong. You will need it a lot. I mean, almost every project. And any layout issue you’re battling with is usually fixed with flexbox. So master that, especially the align-items and justify-content properties.
  2. Don’t give up. Keep wrestling with your code, googling things, trying solutions and learning. I have learned more that way than any other lesson or tutorial. That’s what real workers do too. On the job there are tons of weird bugs, new problems and strange issues you have to find solutions for. So keep doing that and you’ll progress, for sure.