Free Code Camp to Frontend Developer - My Journey

It’s been a while since I’ve spent a lot of time on this site. Four years to be exact. Time flies!

I’m Rhett Griffith. I’m 34 years old, and I’m a web developer for a digital media agency in Alabama (US).

I wanted to share a little bit about my background and my experience here and how it helped me land a job in web development.

I went to college in Troy, AL (US) and received a music degree focused on audio / recording studio / live performance. I graduated in 2012. I interned in radio shortly after and used that internship to get another internship in graphic design at a father and son, two man marketing firm that does advertising for the radio station. Afterwards, I had another internship selling basketball tickets, creating flyers, and building terrible email templates for my university’s athletics department that never worked in internet explorer (surprise!).

I was stalling, though I didn’t know it at the time, and I just didn’t want to face the real world. It was a failure to launch.

After my third internship, I got a job at a local newspaper building ads in adobe illustrator. I did that for about for about 18 months. Then, the marketing firm from my internship called and asked if I wanted to build no-code WordPress sites.

Of course I said yes, but I wasn’t allowed to tinker with any code, css, js, or otherwise (for fear of breaking something…crazy right?). They eventually stopped selling websites and my job became billboard, t-shirt, and ad design. I hated my job, and my life wasn’t much better making peanuts doing work I didn’t enjoy. There was an eventual mutual parting of ways. Thankfully, it was amicable. They’re good people.

I found out about freecodecamp and decided to go all in. With no job and only a line of credit from the bank, my back was against the wall (don’t underestimate the power of “burning the boats”).