HELP ! I cant think and solve javascript codes myself without peeping at others code

Hello fellow campers, i have been learning javascript for 4 months now, When i started, it was tough, I nearly succumbed to frustration from wrong codes and errors but i conquered with determination, Then, codes fear me. i got scared each time i get to my code editor and all that. But at this stage, the former is gone, we are now friends, am not scared of it anymore. Now i can read codes written by other programmers, But my problem is that whenever i see a javascript problem, i can think of a way (30/100) to solve it, but won’t know where to start implementing, but whenever some one starts solving it, i will be following and understanding the procedures used. It frustrates me a lot. I feel like an idiot with a low thinking capability. Though, i knows the basic of Javascript now and can teach a newbie the fundamentals, but can’t solve a problem on my own.

Please, is it a normal thing or is there a method i can implement to improve on this.
Also know that i ve been building projects with wes bos and other cool guys in youTube.
please any advice will be highly appreciated and respected. thanks in advance.

Happy coding!!!

1 Like

Being able to understand code is a different skill than being able to come up with programmatic solutions to problems. They are both important skills, but the latter takes much more work to build. What you are experiencing is extremely common. People look at explanations of code or solutions and feel like they’re learning - and they are, but they’re not learning how to arrive at a solution . Very often we help campers who become frustrated because they think that the best way for them to learn is to “reverse engineer” the solution, but when they come to challenges where no solution is provided or where they are really pushed to apply their problem-solving skills they are overwhelmed.