Help on my Programming journey

I study Animal science in school so programming is uncharted lands for me.
I started learning by using Freecodecamp site. Today I checked some Youtube videos from freecodecamp saying Introduction to Programming. The video contained a whole list of concepts which I have no slight idea of considering that am still on HTML and CSS
Is it okay to watch this video in full or I should wait till I get to JavaScript?

The course is interactive and as such offering a lot more information and praxis than a video.
Though ofcourse you can watch the video - I assume it will merely go into the basics of how these things work. As a beginner video it’s to be exptected you haven’t yet heard of them.

Keep in mind, html and css aren’t programming languages.
One is literally a “hypertext-markup-language” meaning it’s basically written textmarkers. The other is a stylesheet, a list of styling attributes.

So in other words, the video has nothing to do with html and css, thus up until you start with Javascript, the video does not touch anything you do on the course.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for your wonderful answer
Its all I needed

Hi, I think you should do both of them bilaterally. This doesn’t mean having a greedy approach. Instead, you divide your time into chunks and allocate one of those chunks to watching this video (e.g 5 min every day).
How you watch it is quite important. Since you are not familiar with many concepts within the video, the best way is to sharpen your curiosity while watching.

When you want to watch this video have a notebook, and write down all the things you don’t understand in form of a question list. Also, pay attention to the repeated names and phrases. Things like the name of algorithms or graphs.
Get creative with it, and even try to draw some of the ideas you learn or even you have difficulty learning.

For now, the goal should be gainning a basic understanding of what ideas are essential and important.