How do I get more development duties at work?

I work in the public sector, in a tightly regimented organization where roles and duties are clearly defined. Most of my job is software support or process analysis and about 10% is intranet development in html, scripting in PowerShell or training user on SharePoint. This isn’t enough coding or development to make me happy.

I have also been tasked with configuring and populating a knowledge management system but I don’t even have server access for the platforms we are testing. I have to request changes from system administrators who just procrastinate and eventually ignore those requests.

In the past, other people have gone rogue and changed their own duties until they were sys admins or developers but most of those people are gone and the top managers aren’t looking for change.

Has anyone ever worked in an organization like this and had success making changes or changing their own role? What strategies did you use to bring about change?

So before I begin I want to saying I believe that losing ones job isn’t the worst thing that can happen most of the time. If your financially stable, losing ones job isn’t the worst thing that can happen, being bored is the worst thing that can happen. If your bored, your wasting your time, and lets be real you can’t buy more time. Challenging the status quo in any system carries some risk, but I believe most people can take on more risk than they usually do, but don’t due to fear of losing their job.

So, there’s a few ways to go about trying to “get better work”. The simplest is to ask for it, and keep asking for it, and until you get a hard answer (yes or no), you keep asking. Ask anyone for anything related to what you want to do. Your goal is to make it visible you want change for yourself. Without making this visible nothing will ever happen.