How do you complete the curriculums?

I’m pretty new to programming and would like to hear your opinions and how you approach the freecodecamp curriculums.

I started the Responsive Web Design Curriculum. It doesn’t seem difficult so far, I almost never needed to go to MDN or any other resource to pass the steps. But after finishing a course, it’s challenging to write the HTML/CSS code without looking at the solution.

For instance, I was not able to completely write the code of the below course by myself at first :smiling_face:

Do you think it’s a good approach to write the code of the courses from scratch without checking the solution? Or do you just follow the steps and complete the courses without trying to write them from scratch?

I know it’s good to learn better and makes you practice better. But it’s taking quite some time to write the code on your own.

Many thanks in advance.

I have somewhat similar problem.
My approach is:
take a look at the certification projects
to pass the tests you dont need much
but after passing the tests you can copy your solution to your local machine, and try to apply CSS to this pages, or completely refactor it
you will have the need to go to the MDN and somewhere else, and you will improve your skills when you try)
UPDATE:
example: I am struggling with my tribute page right now, and I ended up with better understanding of flexbox patterns already.

Yes, I also have the same approach… copy the solution to the local machine and try to make the same web page without looking at the code unless I’m stuck and can’t do anything.

But it slows me down a lot :slight_smile: I could have finished the whole responsive web design curriculum, instead I’m not even halfway down.

I’m not sure this is necessary. As a beginner you will often look at some code which is not written by yourself.

Some more tips from my approach:

have some bookmarks like MDN and w3s, you actually need to look up something on regular basis