I feel like front-end is soooo difficult

Hey so I’ve been learning HTML and CSS for about 6 months now albeit not consistently. I have the basic understanding of how HTML and CSS works and all but when it comes to creating a page I feel so so blank. Is it possible that back-end is better suited to me or do I absolutely have to go through front-end?

I have completed some of the course projects and they look all so heinous. Might I be lacking in terms of consistency with the in off I’ve been on or do I try out javascript in order to go back-end?

Hello @ntandoyenkosi welcome to the freeCodeCamp forums!

Your welcome to “skip” and not focus much on the front-end. However, the back-end is actually very different than the front-end’s HTML, CSS. The front-end is taught first, as it provides a clear visual learning environment to get you used to how websites are built. With the main goal getting you to learn the “core component” which is JavaScript. JavaScript is what makes the web “work”. HTML and CSS are what the user sees, but JS is what makes stuff happen. JS is a full on programming language, which is also what powers the back-end taught by fCC (node.js).

So without getting into the JS portion of the front-end, your missing out on leveraging the visual environment of the front-end to learn, and thus will throw yourself into node.js and the back-end, which requires almost entirely JS skills.

Its very possible you might not have an eye for design. This is OK. There are lots of people who work on the front-end that aren’t some artistic genius making beautiful sites. Rather you can pick some front-end CSS framework, like bootstrap, to help you get passable UI, and focus more on the requirements rather than trying to engineer a full UI from scratch.