Is a portfolio website necessary? Example of good documentation/ README?

Hi campers,

I came across with this Reddit post which basically says a portfolio website isn’t necessary. Not only the original poster advocates it, but from the replies underneath it seems the OP has got a point.

The main takeaway I got from the Reddit thread is that a well documented Github with well written README does the job of a portfolio website.

So it leads me to 2 questions:

1. Does your personal experience confirm with this saying?
  2. What is considered as good documentation and good README?

Currently I have finished all the front end challenges on FCC, now on the way to build some showcase projects. After reading this Reddit thread I am really not sure if I should continue building a portfolio website. I am not good at designing things so I might just end up with a bad looking website like the thread suggested.

Kenny

1 Like

Hi @kennykenny.l !

I am also curious to hear from experienced devs on this issue. :grinning:

The part time dev job I have now, didn’t ask me for a portfolio.
But I feel like that was a different set of circumstances and probably isn’t the norm.

A lot of the responses said they got their first jobs without a portfolio and just had their GitHub profile and resume.

But I am curious, how many of those devs had previous work experience.
Because if you have any relevant work experience, then obviously that is going to carry a lot more weight than just a website of personal projects.

I agree with that point.
I think repos that have good commit messages and good READMEs are important.

You should avoid just one commit of ‘first commit’.
Writing good commit messages helps you and the team out.

For the README, I think something with a description of the project is good.
Don’t just use the default README that comes with react.

It should include information on what the project is.
Maybe some images of the project.
A way to run it locally would be nice.