Is gitbash the same as bash for Linux?

Hello, I have a windows system and ive been advices to install Linux which seems challenging given that I’m just a beginner web developer… so questions- is gitbash for Windows te same as bash on Linux? Do they have the same commands? Will I be able to work on a Linux she’ll if I learn gitbash?

Yeah Gitbash is the same as bash on linux and gitbash is the windows version.:slight_smile:

1 Like

I don’t know if it has all the functionality of bash but your experience will be similar to using bash on Linux and you’ll be able to transfer those skills if you work on Linux later.

If you want a halfway house between using gitbash and dual-booting Linux on your windows machine, Brad Traversy has a tutorial on using the Linux subsystem for Windows. You just have to remember not to use Windows to edit your Linux files since this could cause data corruption in them.

3 Likes

Hmm, sounds like you ran into a Real Programmer™. (Heavy sarcasm.)

Personally, I love Linux. I think it’s beautiful and it’s a joy to program on. But if you’re a beginner web dev, learning Linux should be pretty low on your agenda unless you’re personally interested in the OS.

It’s okay to code on Windows at first. You won’t actually get a ton of benefit from writing HTML on Linux over Windows, because all your stuff is processed by the browser anyway! Linux shines when you need to install and keep track of lots of packages when you’re coding in a language like Python or C or Clojure.