Is web dev the only route out there?

I’m fairly certain that the answer is a resounding “No”, but is web dev the best way to break into the developer world? I’ve been learning python for a few months now, and am starting to work on a couple of bigger programs (The ones I’ve been wanting to tackle since the beginning, but knew I needed some land under me before I started).
On a whim I went an took a look at the job boards out there, and Holly Cow Turds! there are a lot of jobs listed for full stack web developers… I mean Jezz! Is building my personal projects in a GUI like Kivi a good idea (I was hoping to use it as portfolio piece and keep it running as an open source project as a passion piece), or should I shelve it until I have a better grasp on JavaScript and build it with the Django stack?

1 Like

You are correct, there are multiple “routes” to being a web developer.

If your goal is to learn web development for employment I usually recommend “going backwards”. Where you start with the jobs your seeing you can apply to, take what they are asking for and learning those technologies and requirements.

So for example, if your seeing only full-stack web developer jobs asking for C# + JavaScript + React (just an example) it would be wise to at least look into those technologies, and compare them to what your currently learning. Obviously direct experience is the best experience when applying, but similar experience with similar technologies might suffice.

Depends what your goals are with this project. If its just to show off and contribute to over time as a “passion piece” then yea go for it, you will learn something.

However, if you want to show it off as the main project when you are applying for then it would be best its as relevant as possible for the jobs your applying for. So for example, if your write your project with Python + Tkinter (Python’s GUI lib) and your applying for a full-stack job, it probably wont help much.