It is hard. I almost want to give up

After completing Responsive Web Design course, I went on to study Javascript and algorithms course. Responsive Web design is not that bad, but Javascript and algorithms are where things get difficult. I understand the examples when I am studying, but I get lost in the projects sometimes.

Hi @vincinchristmas !

Most people have gone through this because learning your first programming language does take some time to understand. It is a different type of thinking than HTML and CSS.

My advice is to be patient with yourself because it take time before things start to make sense. Study a little bit each day, and reach out to the forum when you need help.

Through time and practice, JavaScript will start to click

4 Likes

I suggest below from my learning / tutorial hell experiences of 2021

1. Stop learning JS, algorithm at once
  2. Start building HTML and CSS only projects ( refer to frontend mentor website )
  3. Join FM community and join a team who is learning as well
  4. Once you’re fully comfortable with HTML and CSS, then only learn JS and build projects with JS

At present you’re simply getting overwhelmed and feeling exhausted. Follow above steps and see the change.

Regards,
Vikram

1 Like

I just want to point out that people dont learn the same way, and what works for someone else is not always going to work for you. This is nothing against Vikramvi, and he does have some helpful suggestions. Front end mentor is a great place to get use to doing projects, and practicing your html and css. By all means you can give this a try, but no one here knows yourself better than you and how you learn.