Memorizing all the code

Hello all,
I’m trying to find a way to memorize all of the code. Im a 15 yr old student willing to do what it takes to learn coding. Is there anyone who has a strategy?

Why memorize it all? Good developers don’t memorize code. They learn ideas and concepts and they learn the basics of languages and google the details when needed.

3 Likes

Hi @maxgotgames4 !

Welcome to the forum!

It is impossible to memorize everything because there is too much to memorize and tech is always changing.
Focus on understanding the concepts and look up what you need to from the docs.

4 Likes

How would memorizing even work? Like what would you even memorize? You learn to code to solve new problems and expand your knowledge and, there’s no fixed way to do that. It’s not like there’s a code that you have to memorize to solve a problem. You can solve a problem in any number of ways.

Even if you’re talking about solving algorithms, you’d need to understand why and how a solution works.

I don’t think it’s possible to go very far with memorizing code. And if you’re talking about basic commands, then don’t worry. The more you use certain things, the easier they will come to mind. If not, there’s always google.

Edit: sorry Kevin, I wanted to reply to the main post and I don’t know how to comment you out.

1 Like

That’s fine. My wife thanks you for “keeping me in my place”. :wink:

1 Like

Was my tone at the beginning a bit too aggressive? :sweat_smile:

No, my wife just loves any opportunity to crush any rising self-confidence. :wink:

1 Like

Or maybe she just wants to keep your self-confidence at realistic levels. My wife does that too and I think it’s really important. :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Hi @maxgotgames4,
You can try spaced repetition:

• Memorizing a programming language using spaced repetition software, Derek Sivers:
  • How to use spaced repetition with Anki to learn to code faster:

Cheers and happy coding :slight_smile:

1 Like