Musician Programmers

Hey all!

I graduated with a B.A. in Music (classical guitar) but have been focusing on programming the last year and a half or so. My experience has been that practicing music and practicing programming are similar in many ways. In particular, the act of writing a program and composing a piece/song. I think my years of experience being locked in a practice room hacking away at Bach pieces and such has carried over into my ability to practice programming. I’m curious if any of you are musicians and if so, do you feel like you’ve had a similar carryover between music practice and programming practice.

Thanks

8 Likes

If you are interested in working with programming and music together, this is a really amazing video by someone at spotify:
http://confreaks.tv/videos/railsconf2016-closing-keynote-paul-lamere
It’s funny, interesting, and not language specific.

4 Likes

You should check out TOPLAP and come join us in the world of algorithmic music

1 Like

Thanks guys. These links are great!

You should check out Sonic PI.

3 Likes

I have been a musician since I was 15 years old and do think there is definitely a connection. Perhaps the ability to break something down into smaller pieces and putting them together. I also used to love playing with Legos and I think that helped a lot with both music and programming lol.

1 Like