Need advice on Portfolio website

I am in my last semester of university and am hoping to get a job or internship that leads to a job by May 2021 (when I graduate). I have been sending out the website I attached below, and a polished resume that I tailored towards strictly web development. What I need advice on is:

1. Do the projects on my portfolio stand out as “job ready”, if not what projects could I add?
  2. Should I tweak the design of the website or add more “bells and whistles” or is it fine for a junior developer position as is?

Also any general advice on interview prep (whiteboard interviews, algorithms to study, etc). My major is not computer science so I am hoping to get a job by going the “self-taught” route, so any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Hi @dascolt1!

Here are my thoughts.

Projects:
For all of the projects there needs to be a link for the github repo and link to live site.

When I click on the links for the projects I received this message

That didn’t happen when I clicked on the pictures but I would still fix that.

I do think that you have to work on your project description. Because right now they don’t really get me excited to click on them.

You have to remember that you only have a limited amount of time to capture someone’s attention before they move onto the next person.

I would also consider moving some of your projects around. I think the fraternity site should be first in my opinion because it is a full stack application.

I also think you should have a link to the pdf copy of your resume.

But, I would also try to maybe add one more full stack project on there if you can.

Alumni center and career services
Since you are in college take advantage of these resources. Even though you are not in the cs department, you can still benefit from network events with people in the industry.

Here are some other helpful resources

Good luck!

1 Like

Hey Tommy,

there is one big problem with your site: