Newbie Here - Question about Careers/Employment

Hey,

So I’m new here and just started with the curriculum. Back in college (several years back) I learned some HTML and CSS so catching up shouldn’t be much of a challenge (hopefully, (wink) )

So I have questions/concerns…

So let’s say if I were to complete all of the curriculum here thru FCC, and then put the certifications that I’ve learned from here on my resume and start looking for looking for jobs but the only experience i have is designing my own website and have taken credit hours on related courses , what/which employer will hire someone with my background? When i first started college, i was majoring in Computer Science and it got too challenging for me so I switched over to Business Management back in 2005/6… I saw similar posts like this one but I wanted to ask anyway to get more info.

Also which job positions hires immediately?

Thanks

Its more about how you “sell” yourself, and the approach you take in applying for jobs.
For example, if you went through 100% of fCC’s curriculum, you’d end up learning a number of skills, and having multiple different kinds of projects under your belt. Its one thing to put the certificates on your resume, its another to put the skills and projects you have. Yea the certificates are great goals, but when it comes putting them on their resume, they usually aren’t as good as putting the actual projects you build.

Its better to say you have build multiple full-stack apps using JavaScript, and Python, than it is to say you have a cert for some site where you built a full stack app.