Noobie here - hi!

Hi everyone! New here. I was stuck in Odin’s for awhile and a friend kept telling me to look into freecodecamp. Glad I started, happy to be here. I have no technical background so its been a fun ride so far. Any general tips are greatly appreciated! TY

2 Likes

I’m not sure what Odin’s is, but welcome. It’s a pretty nice group here, very friendly and helpful.

My advice is just to work the curriculum. Try to code every day. Once you get to a certain point in the curriculum, maybe start thinking about building some side projects. When you are done with the curriculum, keep building and learning. That is the key - keep learning new things and keep building things that use those new skills and that force you to learn even more new things.

As to the forum, my most common advice is to keep your questions specific. The more specific the question, the better the answers in quality and quantity. And don’t be afraid to ask a question - there is no question so basic that most of us didn’t know it at one point and that there are at least a dozen other people still wondering but are too afraid to ask.

3 Likes

Hey @soulsteeper welcome! Here are some tips I have:

1. Work the curriculum from top to bottom if you are interested in front-end web development. Start at the HTML/CSS course then proceed with JavaScript and so on.

2. freeCodeCamp has a snazzy “focus music” radio page. I use it all the time when coding and it’s great: https://coderadio.freecodecamp.org/

3. Learn some HTML and CSS then build some basic projects on the side to practice what you learn. The projects at the end of the course are great, but build something else that interests you in addition to those five final projects.

4. Follow freeCodeCamp on Twitter and watch for articles you’re interested in, then follow those authors. Their insight into coding and the developer industry is great!

2 Likes