November 2020 - Hello World

I am new to programming and I am enjoying my introduction to freeCodeCamp.org.

I took one or two introductory “Computer Science” classes in high school. Even though I was interested in the subject matter, I didn’t find the purely academic approach to coding very interesting. In fact, I think I may have even dropped the high school class part way through. It just seemed like the class was taking something that was exciting and full of potential and sucking the life out of it.

I’ve considered revisiting coding and programming a few times. The friends I knew who were software engineers or developers generally discouraged me from pursuing it, with the advice that unless I had been avidly pursuing coding from a young age on my own, I would not likely find the field very interesting. Advice of this sort only validated the previous experiences I had with Computer Science in college and high school.

In recent years, coding boot camps have come into vogue but they have always been cost prohibitive, so I haven’t pursued them as an option. I’ve had more than a passing interest in learning Python, but I haven’t really done anything about it.

Recently, I listened to a podcast, where the guest suggested learning Assembly, C++ and Python. Last weekend, I spent several hours fooling around with MS Visual Studio, trying to get the various plug-ins to work for Assembly and then finally abandoned it. This weekend, I spoke with another friend who is a Software Engineer and he encouraged me to forego Assembly and jump right in with Python, which is what lead me to freeCodeCamp.

Yesterday, I finished the first hour of “Learn Python - Full Course for Beginners”. Today, I created free accounts with GitHub, StackOverflow and freeCodeCamp. FreeCodeCamp has encouraged me to start from the beginning, so today I completed the intro to HTML / HTML5.