Portfolio Review - Requesting Feedback

Hi All,

I’ve been working on my front end web dev portfolio. I’m still learning but I would like to start getting feedback/constructive criticism on my work so far. If you have a moment, please check out my portfolio and projects and let me know if you think I am ready to apply for junior front-end web dev jobs. I’m open to any tips/tricks, feedback, or advice anyone has to offer. Thank you!

Portfolio site: https://www.toye.digital/

A few suggestions for your portfolio page:

• You don’t want to embed <a> inside of a <button>, it’s either one or the other. Since those are links to other pages you should lose the <button> and just use <a>.
  • You need to have an h1 heading at the top of your page. Personally, under the h2 Projects heading, I would make each of your app titles an h3. I also think you need an h2 heading for the icons above your projects.
  • At the bottom, all of your inputs need to have IDs that match the ‘for’ attribute in their corresponding label.
  • The alt text on your project images should not be “…” (the screen reader literally says “dot dot dot”). I would argue that the alt text can be empty here since these images are purely decorative. In fact, I would just hide them from screen readers using the aria-hidden attribute.
  • As I manually increase the text size the content in the black box at the top starts to fall off the right side of the box. The links at the top start to fall off the right side of the page and a horizontal scroll bar appears. The “Project” and “Github” buttons have their content cut-off. Basically, you need to update your CSS so that it handles increases in text size just as well as it handles changes in view port width. One of the best ways to do this is to use em values for your break points instead of px.

Thanks for taking the time to review and provide feedback! I will make those updates. Much appreciated!

It looks really nice, change the favicon and the title tag though.