Wanting to get my first dev job || Portfolio Review :)!

Hey Guys, I’ve been coding for about 5-6 months now and I want to redo my portfolio because im not landing jobs yet :/. this is my current portfolio

http://santdeleon.co/

I was hoping for some feedback and thoughts on whether I should remodel my portfolio or if ya’ll think its good! I want to be a React dev so remodeling in React seems like a good thought.

I agree with Randell. I would also add that some of those images are much larger than they need to be. The image gifsearch-screenshot.png was almost 4Meg and took 7 seconds to download. Is that worth it for an image that you’re going to render at 200X200? They talk about perception of performance being hurt by delays of a tenth of a second.

Also, the color schemes in the About section are hard to read. And I tend to dislike center justification, for aesthetic reasons.

Additionally, I found some of the pizzazz to be a bit much. Granted, I’m big fan of subtlety, but the animations were distracting. And do you really need three different pointers? I would definitely get rid of the crosshair one. Having a change of cursor over something clickable is nice, but just randomly showing off can be off putting. I suspect that employers would be wary of people trying to throw all their low-level tricks into their page - like they are compensating for not knowing anything else or that they lack taste. I know there may be some that disagree, but that’s how I see it.

And what is that image above the contact section? I can’t tell what it is or what purpose it serves.