Regarding Heroku and credit cards

I’ve learned that Heroku limits you to 5 free apps, which is not…ideal. I’d like to finish up all of FCC some day, but I also do side projects which might require Heroku. Turns out, if you are verified Heroku customer, you can use 100 free dynos(!!)

Now the issue is that this needs you to enter your credit card, and being a student I don’t have one, I’ll have to use my parent’s. I don’t want to spend any of their cash on Heroku (unless I can pay it back) so I want to know:

• If I only use free tier apps, is there a chance of Heroku charging me? Can the dynos scale without permission in case of small spikes in traffic?
  • I’ll use mlab with this; is it possible for them to charge me without notice?

If anyone has become a verified user, I’d love to know your experience and get feedback.

Hyperdev is still beta and as far as I could see you can’t even name or delete projects.

I tried Hyperdev, but it doesn’t seem to have database support, which means I have to use mlab. It also seems more like Cloud9.io than Heroku? I’ll have to configure my app for it and try it out. If you’ve used for any FCC projects, I’d like to have a look on how you set it up.

I’d like to stick with Heroku only because of how easy it is to push from Github and have an application running. Otherwise I do have about $50 of credit in Digital Ocean, but I have 0 sys-ops experience so I’m not very eager to use that just yet.

I read a little bit about hyperdev now and it seems that this is more something like jsfiddle or codepen.io where you can show your code, collaborate with others and so on.
It seems not the right place for serious or great projects. But it seems to be good for “simply play around” things, which must be not bad if you wanna learn something.

1 Like

My bad, I missed the “remove” button (when the project is paused). So, in that case, I have to agree that hyperdev is a good service!