REPORT - My experience after 14 weeks in my first job as front end web developer

Hi there,

I am learning code since february 2017, I was 28 y-o at that time. I am self taught and I studied economics and international relaions at university.

I got my first job this year in 2019. I started and now I am working as a junior front end dev for 14 weeks. In my country there is this 3 months of testing period, where both sides of contract can freely decide to cancel the long term-job contracted. I passed this period successfuly. Does this make me a professional? I dont know??? :slight_smile:

I do like the coding job and I like the company as well as my colleagues.
The start with my duties was rather chill and my manager gave me a slow acceleration paste, when he was giving more and more difficult tasks and at this point I have the general knowledge of using all the tools, company uses (like BitBucket, JIRA, PHPStorm, FileZilla).
I try to finish most of my tasks solo, since all other colleagues are PHP programmers and my managers is always busy and he he wants me to become increasingly independent. It is OK, to ask questions, but sometimes I feel he is feeling overworked and this sometimes comes out as a decisive and bit angry tone in his explenation. I often run into issues and some issues discovers only my boss, so I think I should try harder to get better in quality of my code.
What about my feelings? Well I do love, when I come up with a sollution to problem I managed to solve, but the dopamine rushes are after 3 months getting smaller and smaller. It is probably due to fact, that I fix simillar issues in CSS and jQuery and recently I do not work with any new technology.
I would still feel other people are way better developers, since they wotk on the company app code, which is mostly done in PHP, a tech that is still very new to me, and they solve just much more difficult issues that I dont fully grasp.