Self Taught Resume review

Hi FCC! Please check out my resume and give any and all advice on how to improve it or my projects.

1 Like

Hey @clguitar1 I like your style!

Maybe, ‘justify’ the text of the projects and provide titles as hyperlinks?

Also visually separate title from the description. I would also include link on Github or some CodePen projects.
For me, it was good approach to upload the FCC projects on React to GitHub Pages.

If you have some job experience, even if it’s irrelevant - try to include maybe? It’s still your experience, just summarise it.

These are just my thoughts :slight_smile: But I really like your style

@clguitar1, I will be a little critical here, though I hope to be useful.

The very first thing I noticed is the layout, which is also the only suggestion I have about.

Your ‘Experience With’ section - could you make so that the two columns align with the two columns in the ‘Projects’ section - they are to the left slightly which reduces the appeal of the otherwise awesome resume’.

Also, in your ‘Education’ section - perhaps you could start each topic (Udemy etc.) from the start without the tab. In the Udemy, your skills continue in a single line which continues to the end - perhaps three columns, in this case, should be eye-catching.

I wouldn’t say no to adding experience as well - summarized as per the advice, you already received.

• Until you have professional dev experience of some sort, I’d recommend not calling yourself a “Web Developer”. The term “web developer” is incredibly generic anyway.
  • Delete your full mailing address, and just leave your city & state.
  • No LinkedIn profile is a red flag. Everyone should have one.
  • Some of your skills should be properly capitalized, like “JavaScript”, “GitHub”, and “WordPress”. Also React is no longer formally known as “ReactJS”, it’s just “React” now.