Started Learning to Code 3 Days Ago

Dear all,

Hope everyone is doing well.

This is my first post here and am very excited to be part of the community here.

I am a huge fan of coding. However, I have been pursuing social science all the while, to the point that I am currently doing my PhD in social sciences at NYU. And one thing more, I am in my thirties. Heck, mid-thirties.

I know, this sounds like I have got little chance :smile:

During the C-19 lockdown, I attempted to build a website for one of my projects. I spent hundreds of dollars on Wordpress as I was trying to build a website with drag and drop tools.

WordPress got me excited as I was able to customize a few templates. But then, I found myself wanting for some more customization ability. I then bought a couple of extensions and plug-ins in the hope that I would be able to do things that I could not do (eā€¦g, to make the website more dynamic and make menu-bar more lively).

After a few weeks of trials and errors, I learned that with a Wordpress drag and drop tools I was able to make a static websiteā€“and a beautiful one too, but it was like my hands were tied with a rope and was made to work. What it did was it gave me a feel for what it would really be like to be a software engineer.

Fast forward three years, I have still not learned to code. Well, there are a lot of reasons as to why: for one, I was stuck in Afghanistan for two years. For a year, Afghanistan was on the verge of falling to the Taliban and things were going south for everyone, and then it did fall to the Taliban, after which, well, love and passion was the last thing I was worried about.

However, now with my first semester over in my PhD, I am all set to learn to code. And I am determined. Coding is hard, I know, but I have fought much much harder battles, trust me.

So, my goal is simple: learn html, css, and java scrip to be able to develop my own website.