Study Duration In A Day

Hi,
I’m new to freecodecamp. I’ve just started the curriclum a few days and have finished “Intro to Basic HTML and HTML5” and almost finished “Basic CSS”.
My question is: How long should I study and how much should I study in a day so that I don’t get overwhelmed but also progress at a fair pace?
Thanks,
kidblack

It definitely depends on different people.

I would look into pomodoro technique where you can focus on something for some period of time then a short break, and so forth with this interval.

You will get an idea how much you are capable of studying a day after few sessions.

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer! I’ll look into it.

Good day @kidblack,

Welcome to the forum.

As for the length of study, that depends on whether you’re studying it full-time or part-time.
If you’re studying it full-time, see it as a job whereby you spend most of your days progressing.
If it is part-time, you can put few hours like 3 to 6 in order for you to progress.

The estimation given above are solely based on my perspective and is by no means absolute.

Some paths will require you to study less because they will bring all new concepts. By less, I mean that you will have to refer to additional courses in other platforms so that you can understand it better and then come back refreshed and ready to progress.

In all the hours logged, if you feel that you understand the subject or topic well, keep progressing whether it is for an hour, two or more.

“Knowledge is power but understanding is everything”. Unknown

Keep a set time that you’re not willing to compromise based on your daily commitments.

On top of what I have said, realize also how early you would like to be job-ready if that is the case.
Write down when you would like to be on the job market with specific skills and that should help you reverse-engineer how long you would want to learn everyday.

I hope that the contribution helps.

1 Like

Of course it helps. Thanks!