Super newb at 32

Super newbie here, desperately trying to make sense of how to get started in tech. For some background, I have two degrees (one in music, one in jewellery design), and I’ve been working in the jewellery industry for the past five years. I want to get into tech for various reasons - it’s an interesting and ever-changing and evolving field, there are more opportunities to move up the ladder, salaries are competitive and remote work is more possible than in other fields. I know it’s not too late for me to make this change, but I’m absolutely terrified if I’m being honest. I have no idea where to begin.

I’ve spoken to dev friends and they all seem to agree that just learning a language to begin with is a good idea. I started some Python courses on Udemy but never really got going. I heard about FCC on the Code Newbie podcast so I thought it would be a good place to try and make an actual start. I’m hoping that by just going through the curriculum from top to bottom some light will get shed on the shadow that is “tech” and “coding”.

Wish me luck

14 Likes

better late than ever, right?! happy learning :slight_smile:

2 Likes

32 is still young! I too wish I had started earlier but luckily in this coding world, just a couple of years of experience can make a big difference. We got this!
I also found some encouragement from other people’s stories in this thread if you have not seen it maybe it will help.
New Career at 45

4 Likes

I’m 54 so that must make me an uber noob :rofl:

4 Likes

Haha, I was more referring to my newb status as knowing virtually nothing about coding, not my age :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Welcome to tech world, have a look at various types of jobs available and decide which one you wish to learn for next 1 year before starting to apply for jobs

2 Likes

Same here (33). I have a background on engineering so I know C programming. Although I aced it back then, it was super basic and only supposed to introduce us to programming mindset.