New guy looking at getting a new start

Hi all,

I’m new here, I’m a 51-year-old big kid, that loves PCs for gaming and has never ventured much further into IT and tech, other than doing an A+ certification some years ago.

This site was suggested to me as a good place to learn and develop new skills, the forums look like a good place to find help and motivation, so I have decided to join this community.

I thought it would be good to reach out and say hi before I start working on my first steps. I hope this is the right place to do that.

Thanks.

6 Likes

hi there @KeyboardDemon!

you are the proof that age is only a number!

very wise decision, I totally understand it, because its the same on my side too. Altough I never been a gamer, but I use computers very widely. So a decision in age of 38 without being with no background- I’m a history teacher in my past- made me to turn to It technology in order to get into field of freelancing.

Coding journey means to deal a lot with running into walls, frustrations, but that “AHA” moment when something that you been stuck for hours\days suddenly works- its priceless!

This is a great place and the best community ever I been to, here you can share your concerns, frustrations, getting help and so on.

the first step in your position, to my opinion is deciding WHAT you want to learn, toward what you want to go- IT world is very wide and multioptional

Feel free to write me even in the DM, me or even friends here in the forum will be happy to assist you in every question and doubt!

regards,
David

2 Likes

I’ve gone through HTML and HTML 5.0 Basic and also completed the CSS basics, covering a few modules at a time and I am happy with my pace through them, but I am concerned that I might not be retaining the knowledge I gain as move on through the stages.

Is it time for me to start a project in order to start putting what I have learned into practice?

If so, what should I start with? or where should I start?