The Objective of Software Development is Software Development

I don’t like what is happening to the software industry. I’ve been a developer since 1988 and at Microsoft wrote earliest versions of software that many of you use. In the late 80s and early 90s Microsoft had a management policy whose foundation was enabling concentration and focus, minimizing interruptions because they knew that doing so enabled our best work.

We called this “flow.”

That recognition has vanished entirely, from Microsoft and with few exceptions from the entire industry. It has been replaced with bizarre and ritualistic “methodologies” that from all I’ve seen add little or no value; on the contrary, they emphasize interruptions. We now have “masters,” managers, and executives who have never written code and who view any desire to reduce interruptions as effete. Meetings are seen as legitimately productive uses of time. They almost never are.

When people are constantly interrupted they cannot concentrate. When they can’t concentrate they write code with more bugs. The response to this is not to return what worked so well before but to further adulterate the experience with having developers write tests. WRITE tests. Not perform manual testing before tossing it over the wall to QA, who could do their testing however they wanted, unprejudiced by knowledge of the code and not having the developer’s blind spots. These blind spots are an important point that I rarely see recognized.