The path toward game development. What steps should I be taking?

Hey all, so the whole reason I started getting into coding is to make games. I don’t have goals as big as leading a dev team, more like making simple but fun mobile games. I currently have learned HTML, CSS, JS and I would say I’m just under intermediate level on those three. I just started learning C# as it is the language used by Unity. Basically I’m looking for advice on where to go from where I’m at to reach where I want to be.

I have made 1 simple game using Kaboom.js and it was very rewarding and a fantastic learning experience and I would definitely like to take it further. Here’s a link if you want to try it out: https://replit.com/@The702Guy/Mr-Gun-Man?v=1

For game development, there are really only two programming languages that matter: C# or C++. While you can technically make games in any language, C# and C++ are the most prevalent by far.

C# is a good choice to start with since Unity is a good engine, and it has a strong ecosystem and community. I’d just recommend picking up a good book (ebook if that’s easier for you) to learn C# first, then learn Unity. I’ve used The C# Player’s Guide to learn some C# and it’s a good book.

3 Likes

Thanks for the reply! I picked up that book, I’ve just started some free online courses in the mean time. Is there any good resources out there for learning unity? I know Unity itself has resources. Also how different is C++ from C#?

Also how different is C++ from C#?