What's the difference between the core courses and other youtube videos?

So I’m a complete 0 at Python and starting with the Scientific Computing with Python course. However, I noticed there’s this other YouTube video from FCA, but it’s not one of the core certificate options of the website. What’s the difference? Should I be starting with the video linked first before doing the certification courses on FCA?

Hi @huhjunn !

If you are new to programming in general, the python sections from the core platform assume you have done the previous JavaScript sections.
So if that is the case, then the python core curriculum might move a little bit quickly for absolute beginners and you will want to start with the beginner youtube video.
If you have some programming experience and just looking to pick up another language, then you can start with the core platform.

Hope that helps!

Thanks for your help. I’ve finished the beginner video, do you think I should do any other vids before jumping straight into the Scientific Computing with Python course? Rather than starting FCC from HTML, I thought I’d jump into the areas of my interest. Is that a bad idea given that I have 0 programming experience?

Well, the tricky part will be the projects for the python course.

If you are looking at those projects and are completely lost, then I would suggest studying some more with outside resources before starting those projects.
Since the curriculum was designed to be done in order, the python projects assume you have already done the previous javascript courses.

You can take a look at those projects and see if you have enough knowledge to complete them.
If so, then you can keep going through the course.
If not, then you will need to keep studying before tackling those projects.

Hope that helps!