Where to start?

Hi there. I am totally new to coding with no technical knowledges at all but highly motivated. I was recommended freecodecamp and I signed up today. And now my question: which curriculum should I pick up first? My idea is to learn JavaScript and Python in the next months. Can I take the JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures curriculum without knowledge?
Thanks in advance for your answers.

You can try. If it will be super confusing there will be options:

• temporarily stop with this course, and try to find more beginner-friendly JS introduction course on the web
  • Use this this forum to ask questions. There nice little ā€˜ask for helpā€™ button in every course step, it will help you to create thread here.

You may wanna wait for more replies: when I took JScourse I knew a bunch of Python already and some more code-related stuff.

Itā€™s usually recommended to start at the top and work down from there.

I do not suggest starting with JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures if you do not have experience with programming/coding/JavaScript.

These problems usually require you to focus more on the underlying problem and donā€™t hold your hands in regards to correctly using the language. The earlier curriculum will slowly introduce the syntax of JavaScript and help you get into general coding practices before challenging you with problems that require you to solve problems using these ā€œtoolsā€ you learn.

I usually make the analogy of learning the tools (the languageā€™s syntax) and using those tools to solve problems (algorithms).

2 Likes

Depends on which industry you want to tap in :slight_smile:

Iā€™m sure experts here have their own viewpoints about prospecting tech industry in the latest trends and I am no expert.

However I can recommend you a website that can give you roadmaps to guide you in your learning.

2 Likes