I do not know if I am ready for a junior web developer job

Hi,

So I have been learning how to code for a few months now and I can say I know the basics of HTML, CSS & JavaScript I have also gone over some jQuery however I have not used it for any of my projects. I honestly feel as though I have no confidence in my technical skill set.

I am getting imposter syndrome even though I do not have a developer job yet.

I just wanted to know if I am ready for a junior web developer position, I have been going through a few of the other posts on this topic and I have seen some technical tests on the internet and my heart literally sank, it feels as though I need to know everything when going for an interview.

I would really appreciate it if anyone can take a look at my GitHub and tell me where I stand.

Thank You

I can understand you are anxious but you need to present yourself as potential attractive employee to employers. First, look at descriptions of job listings for your local junior developer jobs. If you feel bit comfortable and think you can carry descent conversations about tech stacks listed, I would say you are ready.

Work hard at it and build projects. There is currently lots and lots of competition for entry-level front-end dev jobs out there and you need to really stand out.

Good luck! :+1:

1 Like

@shimphillip thanks mate, I have built various projects using HTML & CSS with JavaScript however when I look through the job descriptions they make it sound like you need to know everything even as a junior.

That’s because they are written by HR and Execs who generally have little clue what they are talking about.

Rule of thumb: apply to jobs when you think you have 60% of the qualifications.

I would suggest you have a good handle on Git and, the technical test will depend on the actual industry, but study algorithms. Sites like Codewars and Interview Cake can help with this.

2 Likes