I failed at 86% of basic JS

Hello, I am at 86% of Basic JavaScript (5 days from when I started learning JS for the first time in life). Today i failed totally on this task called RECORD COLLECTION. I did not even want to try how to solve it, no ideas, no inspiration at all. Is this normal to be so bad at this point of learning?
All best, Maciej.

Hello,

I’m also doing the JS course, that challenge also took a bit of time for me to solve, it’s normal that we can’t do everything right away, we are learning. For me the challenge makes it interesting and keeps me motivated, it’s like a puzzle i have to solve.

For this exercise reading the instructions really helps, it tells you:
if this happens, do this thing, if other thing happens do that.
You learned something on the previous challenges that does exactly that.

Also, you don’t need to start coding right away, sometimes writing or drawing in a piece of paper helps you to think on how to solve it.

And revisit previous challenges, sometimes you solve a challenge but it doesn’t stay in your head, revisiting them will help you remember things.

1 Like

Programming is hard. And JS is weird. Getting stuck is part of learning. And that particular challenge confuses a lot of people.

These will gradually get more difficult. If you struggle a bit, that means that it is an opportunity to learn. You may have been able to do the others on instinct - maybe you have to think a little harder on this one.

Try to break it down. Do you understand what the solution is supposed to do? Figure that out first. Explaining it to a “rubber duck” is a common way to make sure you understand it. See if you can break it into steps. If you can write it out in pseudo code, that’s even better. And the more you can break a problem into pieces the easier it becomes.

Give it a shot and let us know if you get stuck.

2 Likes

hey @Macsagi82 , I am a beginner like you. I finished my JS Algorithm and DB certification yesterday.