I have a business degree, but want to be a software developer. Help!

Hi I have a business degree, but it’s not my passion and I want to be a software developer, I have been teaching myself and have a long way to go.

My question is, is it worth me doing a masters in software development? Or will I be able to just be self taught.

I really just want to be a freelance software developer.

Thanks in advance :blush:

1 Like

It’s just do home project (being your own boss ) when you do programming. What you need is

Internet.
Computer.
House with electricity.
And use your brain of course.

to become a programmer/software developer.

Do you think getting a masters would give me more clients as a freelance?

Hi @Danvandan !

I understand, since you are coming from the business world that masters degrees play a different role there.

But there are tons of stories of successful self taught developers who are actively freelancing.

Here are just a few stories

1 Like

Thank you jwilkins for the sharing those links :blush:

1 Like

Thank you for these links. I am from South Africa myself and also coming from a business degree background.

1 Like

Hi @sechaba92 !

Welcome to the forum!

You and @Danvandan can also check out the FCC podcast where there are tons of episodes about successful self taught developers.

1 Like

thank you!! :slight_smile:

Sechaba92 Are you also thinking of freelancing or working for a company??

I looked into this myself a few years ago and this is my conclusion.

A masters degree is going to take you several years and be extremely expensive. Just to metriculate into the MS program, you’ll need to first complete a fair amount of math and programming undergraduate courses. The graduate level work that you’ll do will be pretty specialized and will be in the area of interest for the tenured professors in the department. It’s going to be much more academic than practical.

I do not recommend a MS as an entry point into a development career.