I'm new to coding, and would love some advice on the best ways to start my career

I am relatively new to coding and am looking for ways to break into the industry. My main questions are what are the most important things I need to learn, and how can I learn them? Is freeCodeCamp’s Responsive Web Design course a good start? and really what is the best way to learn more? Thanks in advance!

I am relatively new to coding and am looking for ways to break into the industry.

The first step is to learn to code. Get good at coding. Make sure you enjoy it.

Is freeCodeCamp’s Responsive Web Design course a good start?

Sure, it’s a good start. The first 6 FCC certificates give you a solid base for a MERN stack, a marketable tech stack.

Is it “the best”? First of all, that depends on what you want to do. If you want to do web dev, then it’s a great start. You finish those and then spend some time continuing your learning and building increasingly complex portfolio projects, then you’ve got a good chance at getting a job. The more you learn and build, the better the odds.

But if you don’t want to do web dev, then this isn’t a great place to start.

If you are still young, I might suggest getting a degree. It can be done without a CS degree (at least I did) but having a degree would have been better.

Just keep learning and building things. That’s the most important thing.

2 Likes

First of all, ask yourself why do you want to learn programming i.e in which domain do you want to work.

Then try to learn the “C” language, because it is the basic programming language if you are comfortable with the C programming go ahead and learn the most trending topics like Data Science, Machine learning, Artificial intelligence, cyber security, Blockchain etc….

Tips:

• Choose the right programming language.
  • Try out some online courses.
  • Focus on learning computational thinking.
  • Get a book.
  • Check out some interactive tutorials