Please critique my portfolio!

Hello,

I started seriously learning web development in July/August. Before that I took a Java OOP class in HS and self taught C++ when I was 13. I would like to know where I am in terms of job readiness and also see how well my portfolio is put together.

My portfolio can be found at http://kylecrfahey.com.

Thanks in advance.

Nice portfolio

Here is a good list to measure yourself against:

https://forum.freecodecamp.com/t/computer-guide-get-job-ready-with-1-fcc-cert-3-projects-2-courses-and-10-books/64027?source_topic_id=67265

Nice :slight_smile:
I was looking through your github projects and I found one react app: github-battle. What does it do? :smile:
I tried it but it seems it’s not over yet.

Awesome! It would be nice to have a fixed navbar, that way you wouldn’t have to scroll back up to click on a new section. Also the text in the top image is cutoff at the end. The image slider is a nice touch by the way.

Here is my opinion:

• I don’t recommend using bootstrap for a portfolio. Show them you can create your own responsive site and media queries without a framework.

• Your hero img is not centered for me and it gives a bad first impression. margin: 0 auto? Link of what I see in Chrome: Image

• You should have a smooth scroll for the nav links on your page. The instant jump is a bit apprupt.

• On a single page layout your nav should be fixed and allow the user (aka someone who wants to hire you) to get around quickly. They arent going to spend a lot of time on your page and they want the information yesterday.

• Viewing your first project I see this IMAGE I thought your project was broken, is it? Is that how it loads by default. I refreshed the page 5 times before reading the small text saying I need to pic a category. Don’t assume users know what to do on first visit.

• Whats going on here: IMAGE .social-links has some weird margin-left in ems to center it? its not centered. Are you only partially using bootstrap?