[US] [Boston] Got my first full time dev job! (Front End Developer)

Well where to start? I myself am still trying to process it all. After about a year and a few months of learning and 8 months of applying, I finally landed an amazing position as a Front End Developer. Huge shout-out to @QuincyLarson and the dev team for this curriculum. All you really need to know is where to start and which path to take, and I think the freeCodeCamp community provides that.

So a little bit about my background: I have a degree in anthropology, and took a few intro computer science classes. In terms of my progress here, I completed the Front End portion, most of React (didn’t do the dungeon crawler or Game of Life), API Projects, and 2 Full Stack projects. After that, I just started working on even more projects, and fine tuning the old ones. I’ve also been doing some freelance work as well for a start up.

As cliche as this sounds, don’t give up hope! There were times where getting a dev job felt like just a dream (just 2 weeks ago as a matter of fact). Once you reach those first few hurdles in the beginning stages, just picture yourself with that dream job. Keep that goal in your mind whenever you hit that speed-bump. Also, get some sleep, please! I would sometimes stay up past 5am trying to solve a problem, my mind completely vacant. But as soon as I sleep and wake up, suddenly the pieces snap together and I get my “a-ha” moment.

As far as applying for jobs, don’t discount the job boards. However, yes, it took me over 100 applications until I finally started getting some responses, so maybe it might not be for everyone. In addition, try applying out of state/country. I live in New York, and haven’t had a single response from companies here.

Well that’s it for now, but feel free to ask me any questions! Happy coding!

33 Likes

congratulations @codefu-chivy on getting the job

1 Like

Where is the job located?

Congratulations! …

1 Like