Which Technology to Start?

I want to find a well-paying job, and don’t want to waste time learning technologies that are comparatively low paid.

I started doing the HTML5/CSS track, but wonder if I would be better off learning Java, JS script, etc. I have taken classes in C# and C++ in the past. I am currently a technical writer, but want to work more as a programmer writer on APIs and writing codes samples.

Is it recommended to work on the technologies in some kind of order, or can one dive in anywhere and start, say on Java Script or something?

Thank you for your help!

Goeoff

If you want to do web development, then you’ll have to learn JavaScript (and also HTML and CSS).

Java is nearly identical to C#, so if you already know C# then working on a Java based project just requires learning the differences instead of learning a new language.

It sounds like you still want to be a technical writer, but just one with a better knowledge of programming? I don’t know much about technical writing as a career field, so I don’t know what types of technology stacks would hire such a position. I would assume, however that all you would need is a high-level understanding of the language and that if you can demonstrate that you’ve been able to learn a couple different languages that you can learn enough about whatever language they use to do the job. After all, this is largely true for developers who have to actually write the code.

If you are going to learn web development then it’s usually recommended to learn basic HTML/CSS first and then JavaScript. HTML is how the results of your JavaScript functionality are observed. If you are just trying to build an understanding of JavaScript though, for your role as a technical writer, you could just jump directly to JS. You have experience with C# and C++, so you know how to use a console and debugger to interact with code.

1 Like