Any cheap laptop suggestions for a beginner?

I am a complete beginner who is currently trying to do tasks on an iPad mini. I know I need something more if I want to take this programming seriously, I just don’t have a lot of capital to put forth… Any suggestions? I know it sounds crazy but my budget is about $200. I was looking into an Acer Chromebook and using Crouton to run Ubuntu. Would that work? Are there better options? Should I hold out for Black Friday/Cyber Monday to see if I can score a deal on something?

1 Like

Essentially all you need is a text editor like Atom or Sublime, maybe a photo editing app like Gimp or Photoshop if you’re heavily into design, and Linux.

Pretty much any cheap laptop nowadays should be able to handle that.

3 Likes

I haven’t run into any blocks yet with my 6 year old laptop running Ubuntu. (I have done a good deal of react and express/node already)
So any recent machine should be fine. You even could look into slightly used options to be able to afford a larger screen size and/or external mouse/keyboard.

1 Like

You can definitely use a cheapo laptop. My one warning about doing so is to try to get a decent screen size. When you’re programming you will very often want to have two windows open at the same time.

3 Likes

I don’t think I particularly recommend a Chromebook - having to install a custom linux distro on it kind of defeats the purpose of getting it. OEM’s get Windows licenses for dirt cheap, so you aren’t saving much if any money by getting a PC that doesn’t have Windows on it.

If you can find a way to increase your budget, I would seriously consider an Acer Aspire E15 (I bought the Intel flavor for $350 in January, and love it - http://amzn.to/2AHeZp8) - of course you can also get the HP Stream, which I have zero experience with (http://amzn.to/2js1MND)