What can I do to earn money while studying?

I know html and css, I can code designs. I know my knowledge is insufficient, I continue to learn, but can I earn money in front-end while I am a student?

Perhaps you know some people who could benefit from a simple website? Friends who would like a personal website to serve as a resume or portfolio? Someone who might like a storefront for their Etsy shop or something?

Unfortunately, there is no such person around me.

Start where you are. You know html and css, and can code designs - perhaps start blogging about the design-to-code process, developing a network and following. If you’re thinking freelance design, the first step might be to develop connections and credibility.

The same would apply if you were considering getting into tutoring. It could be done, if you have a very solid understanding of the two: semantic, accessible html and the intricacies of css and how the rules actually cascade. Being able to convey that in simple, understandable language is a valuable skill.

Another option, both for your own practical experience and possible income, is performing site reviews and updates. Often called “brochure-ware,” a simple static site offering basic information much like you’d find on a company brochure. Find restaurants around you, or businesses. Check if they have a website, and if they do, perform a site review. Both presentation and content matter.

• are there outdated links?
  • missing or broken images?
  • are the image resolutions reasonable (large enough to be not blurry, small enough for timely download)?
  • company information current and complete?
  • products and pricing accurate and consistent?
  • fonts, sizing, spacing, colors? From a design perspective,does it work?